Thank you, mum

by Rain

I was often angry at my parents for bringing me to this world.

I hated my existence for so long, I still do; for that, mum, I am sorry, but it is the truth.

But when it comes to you, tears of gratitude and a feeling of serenity overwhelm me.

I’ll never be able to repay you for holding me tight when I wasn’t making any sense

For forgiving my smallest and biggest mistake

For loving me when I couldn’t even love myself

For sacrificing yourself to protect me

Thank you for teaching me how to stand up and refuse the abuse

To accept people for who they are

To endue pain

To smile more often

To be kind to others

To dream, even when you try to stop me from following what I want, I can see beneath it all, I can see your faith in me

I can see your support

I learned from a small age to look at my parents as humans who do mistakes and can be wrong

But even with that, and all your imperfections, I couldn’t have had a better person to look up too

Through all the darkness of my childhood and lifetime, you were and still are my light

Mum, as a child, a teenager and as a woman, I thank you

I couldn’t have made it through without you.

I love you.