Share Beirut

by Rain

In the time of the registration for the Share Beirut event, we got asked for our reasons, my reason was “I want to improve myself and my surrounding and change the world, so I am seeking new ways to be inspired, motivated, new perspectives to accomplish it.”

I am super glad I didn’t miss that event. I’ve got all that I asked for and more. Seeing people doing something make me the happiest, It simply makes me want to fight harder. We are alone at times when we stand, but in the big picture we aren’t, we are not the only ones trying to do something, we are not the only people struggling in the process. I already am aware of many things but I realized how much more I need to be aware of things, we must read more about it, learn more about it, dig deeper and ask for answers and refuse to take no as one, and if they didn’t have the answer, we might as well find it. We have to ask questions, plenty of questions, from the silliest to the most outrageous or smartest questions. We have to speak up, stand up, stop saying: “we are alone, we can’t accomplish much in the face of majority”, any little thing could be significant, any little thing matters. Believe in the capacity of individuals to cause a change, you might be ordinary and our actions might be ordinary, but our fight as a whole could accomplish some extraordinary things. Do not get used to it, do not numb yourself to it and adopt “oh, well it is life” attitude, see how it could be and find practical ways to make it so. You might not change it to your ideal (you will never do) but you could try and try and try.

Whenever I wanted to talk about the event, the hardest task was to explain to people that it was not related to politics, it is not corrupted. It is kinda funny when I see some people asking me “who is doing the event? What are they talking about in the event? Be careful! They might brainwash you or drag you into something corrupted…” You know why it is funny? Because the same people afraid of me being brainwashed are the most brainwashed ones following blindly politicians, voting for the same ones over and over again. Well maybe not that funny and more like sad.